Showing posts with label clipping mask. Show all posts
Showing posts with label clipping mask. Show all posts

Friday, December 13, 2013

How to Create a Polaroid Picture in Photshop

Digital Cameras are common these days. Because of this, if seeing a Polaroid picture, I'm excited.  I sometimes make a Polaroid picture, using Photoshop. It is fun. There are different ways to create a Polaroid picture effect, such as a clipping mask. I already explained how to use a clipping mask last time, so I think that you can apply to creating a Polaroid picture. That's why  I'm going to show you a different way to do that here.

1. Go to File < Open, and then select the image you want. I chose this image below.


2. Double click Background layer in the Layers panel, and it will change Layer 0 if you don't name.


3. Go to the Image drop-down menu, and then choose Canvas Size.


With checking Relative, fill out the canvas size number you want to expand in Width and in Height. I put 40 and 70 each there.


You can see the canvas size expanded from the middle below.


4. Go to the Layers panel, click "Create a new layer" icon on the bottom, and then place Layer 1 created under Layer 0.


5. Select "Set foreground color" in the toolbox, choose light gray, and then fill it to Layer 1: Edit < Fill < Foreground Color, or Alt + Del key


6. Select Layer 0 in the Layers panel, and then move the image upside a little bit, using Move Tool in the toolbox like an image below.


7. With highlighting Layer l in the Layer panel, go to the Layer drop-down menu < Layer Style < Stroke.



Check Stroke, double click Color in Fill Type, and then change color such as light gray to Layer 1. After then, set size 1 in Structure. Don't close this window now.


After then, Double click Bevel & Emboss, and then set size 1 in Structure. If you check Preview, you can figure out how the image changes. Press OK.


8. Select Layer 0 in the Layers panel, click "Add a layer style" icon on the bottom, and then select Inner Shadow; this is faster than doing by # 7


Adjust Opacity in Structure. I set 51% here. After then, click OK.


9.  Finally, the Polaroid picture is completed here.






Thursday, December 12, 2013

How to Make a Clipping Mask with Shapes in Photoshop

I explained a way to make a clipping mask with text last time. This time, I'd like to show you how to make a clipping mask with shapes in Photoshop. Actually, it goes through the same process as making a clipping mask with text. Only the different thing is to use shapes.

1. Go to the File drop-down menu, and select Open. Choose an image you want to use a clipping mask.


I chose this image below.


2. Go to Rectangle Tool in the toolbox, click right mouse on Rectangle Tool, and then select the tool you want in the drop-down menu. I chose Ellipse Tool here.


3. Bring and drag it on the canvas like a image below. If you do that, another layer in Layers panel will be created.


4. Go to the Layers panel, choose Background layer, and then double click it.


5. A popup window of New Layer appears. If you click OK, The Background layer in the Layers panel will change to Layer 0.


6. After then, place Layer 0 top on Ellipse 1 layer.


7. With highlighting Layer 0 in the Layers panel, go to the Layer drop-down menu, and then select Create Clipping Mask.


8. You can see the image placed in ellipse.


 9. Go to the Image drop-down menu, and select Trim.


If a popup window of Trim appears, just click OK.


10. After then, you can see a needless space removed.


11. Here is an output below.


Here is another result using Heart Card shape in Custom Shape Tool. If you try to make a clipping mask, choosing various shapes, you will have different outputs like this below. 


How to Put an Image inside Text by a Clipping Mask in Photoshop

You can see an image inside text in a book, magazine, or on TV. It is made by a clipping mask, so I'd like to introduce how to make it in Photoshop. I used Adobe Photoshop CS 6 here. Here are steps below.

1. Go to the File drop-down menu < New in order to make a new canvas.


Any size is okay, but choose Transparent in Background Contents because you can easily edit with any other images later.


 2. Choose Horizontal Type Tool in the toolbox, bring it on the new canvas, and then write any text. I wrote New York. Choose any text color because it doesn't effect on this work.


3. Go to the File drop-down menu, select Place, and then choose the image that you want. 


4. You can see the image placed. If you want to change the image size, adjust it. However, if not, just press Enter.   


5. Go to the Layer drop-down menu, and select Create Clipping Mask. Doing this, pay attention to the Layers panel. The image layer has to be placed top on the text layer. 


6. After then, you can see the image placed only inside text. 


Using Move Tool in the toolbox, you can choose some part of the image that you want to show. 


7. Go to the File drop down menu, choose Save for Web, select PNG-24 with checking Transparency in Preset, and then click Save. 


8. This is an output made by a clipping mask.