Showing posts with label Photoshop CS6. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Photoshop CS6. Show all posts

Tuesday, January 21, 2014

How to Create a Snow Text Effect in Photoshop

Many graphic designers in winter create a snow text effect in Photoshop or in illustrator. The snow text effect in winter stands out. To create the snow text effect is simple. Here is the way to do that below.

1. Open a new file. My canvas size is 500 PX  by 300 PX.

2. Select Horizontal Type Tool in the toolbox, and write any text. I wrote SNOW. 


3. Click Add a layer style icon to SNOW text layer on the bottom in the Layers panel, and then select Bevel & Emboss. Set Structure and Shading in the Layer Style window like a image below. After then, click OK, and SNOW text will change.  


4. Create a new layer in the Layers panel, and set foreground color white in the toolbox. Choose Brush Tool in the toolbox, and then select Hard Mechanical 13 pixels in the control panel; you can select a different brush here. Draw snow on SNOW text like a image below. 


5.  Click Add a layer style icon to Layer 1 on the bottom in the Layers panel, and then select Bevel & Emboss. Set Structure and Shading in the Layer Style window like a image below. After then, click OK. 


6. You can see the snow text effect completed like a image below.


Tuesday, January 14, 2014

How to Create a Fog Effect in Photoshop

Using Photoshop, you might want to create a fog effect. The way to do that is simple. Follow steps below.

1. Open a file that you want to create a fog effect. I'm going to use a image below.


2. Create a new layer in the Layers panel. Set Default Foreground and Background Colors in the toolbox. Fill background color(white) to Layer 1; a hot key is Ctrl + D.


3. With highlighting Layer 1, select the Filter drop-down menu < Render < Different Clouds.


4. Click "Add layer mask" icon on the bottom in the Layers panel, and Layer 1 will change like a image below. After then, select the Filter drop-down menu < Render < Clouds.


5. With highlighting Layer 1 in the Layers panel, set Opacity to 35%. You can see the image foggy like this below.



6. Select the Image drop-down menu < Adjustments < Brightness/Contrast. Set Brightness to -49 like a image below. After then, click OK.


7. Choose Screen to Layer 1 in the Layers panel, and then set Opacity to 35% like a image below. You can see the image changed. That's it.


You can compare before and after below.


Monday, January 13, 2014

How to Create a Rain Effect in Photoshop

Last time, I explained how to create a snow effect. On the contrary to this, this time, I'm going to explain how to create a rain effect in Photoshop CS6. Here are steps below.

1. Open a file that you want to create a rain effect. I'm going to use this image below.


2. Create a new layer on the bottom on the Layers panel. Click Default Foreground and Background Colors in the toolbox. Set foreground color to black, and then fill it out on Layer 1; a hot key is Alt + D.


3. Select the Filter drop-down menu < Noise < Add Noise. Set Amount to 150%:  the more amount you set, the more rain you can make. Click Gaussian in Distribution and check out Monochromatic. After then, click OK.


4.  With highlighting Layer 1 on the Layers panel, choose the Filter drop-down menu < Blur < Motion Blur. Set Angle to 65 degrees and Distance to 35 pixels. After then, click OK.


5.  Select "Screen" on Layer 1 on the Layers panel like this below.



6. With highlighting Layer 1 on the Layers panel, select the Image drop-down menu < Adjustments < Levels. Set Input Levels on the Levels window like a image below: it depends on your image.


7. Create a new layer on the Layers panel. Select Gradient Tool in the toolbox and Linear Gradient on the control panel; choose Black, White on it. After then, drag it from top to bottom. 



8. If you do so, Layer 2 on the Layers panel will change like this below. With highlighting Layer 2, select Multiply and set Fill to 40%. 


After then, you can get a result like this below. 


 You can compare before and after below.


Friday, January 10, 2014

How to Create a Snow Effect in Photshop

Even though I don't like winter, I love snow. Whenever it snows, I try to take a picture. Even if it doesn't snow, I can make a snow effect in Photoshop. Here is a way to do that.

1. Open a file that you want to create a snow effect. I opened this photo below.


2. Create a new layer on the Layers panel: Shift + Ctrl + N. Select the Edit drop-down menu < Fill. Choose Black in the Fill window.


3. Select the Filter drop-down menu < Noise < Add Noise. Set Amount to 100%, select Uniform in Distribution, and check out Monochromatic in the Add Noise window. After then, click OK.


4. Choose the Filter drop-down menu < Other < Custom. Set figures like a image below in the Custom window. After then, click OK.


5. Select Rectangular Marquee Tool in the toolbox, and then drag it. Press Ctrl + T like a image below. After then, expand it as big as the whole canvas size.


6. Highlighting Layer 1 in the Layers panel, select Screen like a image below, and the image will have a snow effect like this below. However, you need to make snow look more natural.


7. Choose the Filter drop-down menu < Blur < Motion Blur. Set Angle to 68 degrees and Distance to 10 pixels; it depends on your photo. You will see a more natural snow effect on your photo.  


Here is an output. You can compare before and after below.


Wednesday, January 8, 2014

How to Make a Reflection in Photoshop

You can often see some images or text reflected. A reflection makes images or text look different. I'll let you know how to make a reflection in Adobe Photoshop CS6 here.

1. Open a new file with a black background.

2. Using Horizontal Type Tool in the toolbox, type any text. I wrote "Reflect" here.


3. Duplicate the Reflect layer on the Layers panel, and the Reflect copy layer on it will be created like a image below.


4. With holding on the Shift key, using the arrow down key on your keyboard,  put down Reflect text. After then, with highlighting the Reflect copy layer on the Layers panel, choose the Edit drop-down menu < Transform < Flip Vertical. The direction of Reflect text will change like a image below.


5. Select Rasterize Type Layer in the Type drop-down menu.


6. Click "Add layer mask" icon on the bottom on the Layers panel.


7. Choose Gradient Tool in the toolbox, and select Linear Gradient on the control panel: click the third one - Black, White. After then, set Opacity on the Layers panel to 27%; it depends on you in order to adjust Opacity.



8. Holding on the Shift key, drag it from down to up like a image below. That's it.


Here is an output below.


When you use an image to make a reflection, it is the same process as text above.

Saturday, December 21, 2013

How to Get Rid of Pimples, Moles, Freckles, or Wrinkles on Your Face in a Photo

Most people tend to want themselves to look pretty, beautiful, or handsome in their picture. Because of this, many people, especially young people like retouching their pictures before uploading the photos on SNS. Today, I'd like to explain how to get rid of pimples, moles, freckles, or wrinkles on your face in the photos, using Adobe Photoshop CS 6. It is so simple that it takes a few seconds to do that.

1. Open a photo with pimples, moles, freckles, or wrinkles. I used this photo below. There is a pimple on the face.


2. Go to the toolbox, and then select Spot Healing Brush Tool; a hot key is J.


3. After then, click the pimple, and it will be removed like the image below. How easy it is!


Here is an output below.


Like Spot Healing Brush Tool, you can use Healing Brush Tool, or Patch Tool in order to fix pimples.

If you want to correct them, using Healing Brush Tool, click a nice skin area on the face, with holding ALT key. After then, drag it and click the place you want to fix, and it will be corrected.


If you want to use Patch Tool to get rid of pimples, select the area at first, using Lasso Tool in the toolbox.


After then, click Patch Tool, drag the selection to a new location, and then release the mouse. You can see the pimple removed.


After removing the pimple, if you need to modify skin tone around the correction, use Blur Tool, Sharpen Tool, Dodge Tool, or Burn Tool in the toolbox. If not, you don't need to do that.

Friday, December 13, 2013

How to Create a Polaroid Picture in Photshop

Digital Cameras are common these days. Because of this, if seeing a Polaroid picture, I'm excited.  I sometimes make a Polaroid picture, using Photoshop. It is fun. There are different ways to create a Polaroid picture effect, such as a clipping mask. I already explained how to use a clipping mask last time, so I think that you can apply to creating a Polaroid picture. That's why  I'm going to show you a different way to do that here.

1. Go to File < Open, and then select the image you want. I chose this image below.


2. Double click Background layer in the Layers panel, and it will change Layer 0 if you don't name.


3. Go to the Image drop-down menu, and then choose Canvas Size.


With checking Relative, fill out the canvas size number you want to expand in Width and in Height. I put 40 and 70 each there.


You can see the canvas size expanded from the middle below.


4. Go to the Layers panel, click "Create a new layer" icon on the bottom, and then place Layer 1 created under Layer 0.


5. Select "Set foreground color" in the toolbox, choose light gray, and then fill it to Layer 1: Edit < Fill < Foreground Color, or Alt + Del key


6. Select Layer 0 in the Layers panel, and then move the image upside a little bit, using Move Tool in the toolbox like an image below.


7. With highlighting Layer l in the Layer panel, go to the Layer drop-down menu < Layer Style < Stroke.



Check Stroke, double click Color in Fill Type, and then change color such as light gray to Layer 1. After then, set size 1 in Structure. Don't close this window now.


After then, Double click Bevel & Emboss, and then set size 1 in Structure. If you check Preview, you can figure out how the image changes. Press OK.


8. Select Layer 0 in the Layers panel, click "Add a layer style" icon on the bottom, and then select Inner Shadow; this is faster than doing by # 7


Adjust Opacity in Structure. I set 51% here. After then, click OK.


9.  Finally, the Polaroid picture is completed here.